Wednesday, November 23, 2005

Realtors usher in new officers

Realtors usher in new officers
Gala evening includes awards presentation SPECIAL TO REAL ESTATE
Members of the Greater Las Vegas Association of Realtors installed a new slate of officers last night at the trade group's annual installation and awards gala at the Four Seasons Hotel.
Linda Rheinberger, owner of No Ka Oi Realty Inc., was installed as president and will assume her duties in January 2006.

"It's my hope for next year and beyond that our organization and members have a more expanded role outside of our organization, wielding more influence in both the private and public sectors of our community," she said in reference to her theme, Realtors: Enhancing the Quality of Life.
"We must work diligently as an organization in order to affect the quality of the lives of our members," she said. "We will do so by providing the most up-to-date tools and support to the members, so they can provide the best service to our clients and customers. We will take an expanded leadership role in education, training, and professional standards. Secondly, we will look for even more involvement in community issues affecting all citizens."
Key local issues, she said, are affordable and attainable housing, traffic concerns, education, affordability and availability of natural resources, and social responsibility.
"These issues not only affect our business, but affect the very community we live in. By working closely with other business leaders and governmental entities, we will affect our business while making our community stronger and better."
A native of New York, Rheinberger was raised in West Virginia and is a graduate of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. She holds several professional designations and is a member of organizations such as the Women's Council of Realtors, Certified Residential Specialists, and National Association of Hispanic Real Estate Professionals.
"With nearly 15,000 members to our credit, we are now fourth in size among all local Realtor associations in the nation," Rheinberger said.
The new 2006 officers are: Devin Reiss, president-elect; Patty Kelley, vice president; Myrna Kingham, past president; and Sue Naumann, treasurer.
The new directors are: Paul Bell, Joan Brooks, Michael Dunn, Robert Hamrick, Robert Lamonte Sr., Mary Owensby, Neil Schwartz, Rick Shelton, Beth Waite, Red Wallin, Robyn Yates.
Several awards were presented at the gala. Following is the name of the award and its recipient:
Realtor of the Year:
Gayle Brown Fox
Affiliate of the Year:
Jeremy Daugherty
Home Builder Award:
Toll Bros.
Gene Nebeker Memorial Award:
Min Keenan Melvin
Ron Reiss Award:
Devin Reiss
Frank Sala Award:
Jeannine Cutter
Hall of Fame Inductees:
Lee Barrett, Keith Kelley, J.C. Melvin, Beth Rossum
Founded in 1947, the association is the local representative of the National Association of Realtors.